Day 17 – Exposing the Unexposed

I never saw an ugly thing in my life:  for let the form of an object be what it may – light, shade, and perspective will always make it beautiful. – John Constable

I actually get paid to write. Now I’m not the famous novelist I imagined I would be when I was just a silly teenager (goal: age 30, ha!) but I do write for a living. You know those manuals that come with software? Yeah, those manuals that most people never read? The online help hooked up with that software program? Yep! I’m one of those lucky software technical writers that writes the documentation.

I love my job. Seriously! But I had to ditch everything I learned in those creative writing classes from college all those years ago … you DO use the same word or phrase OVER and OVER again … stay within the confines of the box … technical writing is very structured, very detailed. And sometimes, in my case, just mind numbing.

I’ve been more-than-lucky landing this gig almost 13 years ago now, I’ve managed to keep my job through eight+ rounds of layoffs over the last decade (seriously, I’ve stopped counting now, and finally learned you can’t live each day expecting a bomb to drop), and I’m the sole survivor of a team of eight technical writers, going on seven years now. My personal joke is, “whoever said that ‘I’ doesn’t exist in the word ‘team’ hasn’t been on mine!” Working in the R&D department, I am surrounded by brilliant people. Yep, we’re all geeks.

A good many of us have creative hobbies outside of work, I guess we all need an outlet to express our creativity, jump outside of the corporate box, and explore. Quite a lot of us have made photography our passion outside of work, no wonder I like these people so much! It’s helpful to have like-minded folks to brainstorm ideas, learn new skills, be inspired by. That’s one thing I love about having this blog, is now finding other people who share this crazy passion, capturing images, exposing the unexposed.

Now for today’s picture. Can you guess what it is?

What Is It?!?

20130117-132747.jpg

What Was That?!? Yesterday’s Picture

In yesterday’s post I talked about using the inspiration suggestion from Noah Scalin’s “365: A Daily Creativity Journal: Make Something Every Day and Change Your Life!” book, which seems to be rare that I actually “follow the rules,” meaning I seem to go off on my own tangent and use whatever happens to inspire me at that given moment. Well, the picture I posted yesterday was the result of the suggested inspiration, which was to use water. I expanded on that idea and used liquid. Specifically, my bottle of perfume, Coco Chanel.

20130116-162533.jpg

This bottle of perfume – and the level of liquid – represents something to me that you could never expose in just a picture. I purchased that bottle of perfume on January 1, 2012, just two days after my mom had died. Because she had worn Chanel #5 while I was growing up, I wanted something from that line for myself. So I started off the year 2012 with a brand new bottle of perfume, but without my mother. Each day, that bottle of perfume’s liquid dissipates more and more, almost like an hourglass. It’s my mom I can thank for all of the creativity I’ve expressed over my lifetime, I always joke that she was the “original Martha Stewart,” just the nice one. 🙂

What's Your Perspective?

