Day 23 – Knock, Knock, Knocking on Heaven’s Door

For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream. – Vincent Van Gogh

The most amazing, awe-inspiring, jaw-dropping view I’ve ever experienced was the millions of stars, galaxies, and planets that draped the Earth the night we spent on top of the mountain at Kitt Peak Observatory in Arizona. In the dead of night I walked outside alone, my breath taken away at how clearly I could see the universe above us, how the Milky Way was so defined, and the sound of absolute nothingness, except for my breath. I still get goosebumps thinking of that sight. It was so surreal. You have to escape light pollution before you can really see the night sky. Just to give you an idea of how bad the light pollution is, you could see Phoenix brightly lit up, which was over 100 miles away! That night sky I saw? I have yet to top that image.

Ready for today’s mystery what is it?!? picture? I promise you it’s not nearly as easy as yesterday’s image. I love a good challenge, don’t you?

What Is It?!?

2013_01_22_0476-4What Was That?!? Yesterday’s Picture

“Come sit for a spell in this rocking chair …” is a typical Southern greeting, and almost nothing is as soothing as sitting in an antique rocking chair with its wicker bottom, the gentle creak of the wood as you rock back and forth. Yes, in case you couldn’t already tell, yesterday’s picture is of the woven wicker bottom of a rocking chair.

12 thoughts on “Day 23 – Knock, Knock, Knocking on Heaven’s Door

  1. Iced tea! I must go make some now. Another winner is Knock, Knock, Knocking on Heaven’s Door. Not sure if it’s just me but do love dancing to that song. 🙂

    Like

  2. This reminds when the family drove to a small lodge in the bush about 60 kilometres from Johannesburg to see Haley’s comet, remember?
    The sky was clear as anything so we took our time unpacking before we came outside to look and take photographs.
    By the time we had our warm coats and flasks and wandered outside with our cameras and telescope, the wind had come up and clouds had blown in from the south!
    We saw the comet once the whole weekend!
    Ah…such is life. LOL!

    Like

    1. Indeed, such is life! Mother Nature, go figure. But at least you got to see the comet at least once, right? It’s like waiting all night to see the space shuttle blast off into space and then five minutes before liftoff, the launch is scrubbed because of those clouds. argh!

      Like

What's Your Perspective?

