Day 120 – What a Strainer

We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are. –ย Anais Nin

Each of us brings our own unique view to the world. These one-of-a-kind perspectives make us the individuals that we are, how we interpret what happens around us, how we “see the world.” There’s something to be said about wearing those proverbial “rose-colored glasses,” for our perspectives do indeed color our world.

My world these days is green, vibrant, and full of surprises. I can photograph the same subjects every day, but yet see something new or different each day, and if I think I haven’t found anything, I know it’s because I just haven’t looked hard enough, or close enough, or from a different perspective.

Today’s mystery “what is it?!?” picture is of a subject that “caught my eye” several days ago. I really haven’t altered any colors or even cropped very much, it’s one of those “broader” perspectives I use occasionally. Do you know? Can you tell?

What Is It?!?

20130427-2013_04_27_5276

What Was That?!? Yesterday’s Picture (Day 119)

Oh, how I was so sure no-one would guess this one easily. Nope! I was wrong. I truly cannot determine what will remain a mystery or not. But it’s all fun regardless. Was it a disco ball? Groovy, but no. A metal fence? Not that either. A honeycomb grid? Not a honeycomb grid. A sieve?

Ding ding ding! Yes, it’s a sieve, a handheld metal strainer. Great guess!

20130429-2013_04_29_5387

15 thoughts on “Day 120 – What a Strainer

        1. Oh indeed, Jerry. I love making Ciabatta, my favorite! Just rolled out my brioche and have that rising, can’t wait to see how that turns out. Did I ever tell you that my grandma and mom owned a bakery? I got the baking genes. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

          1. Lucky you. ๐Ÿ™‚ What I really like about my Ciabatta and french bread recipes is the no need to knead. In fact most of my breads I now do without kneading with great results. I have a Cinnabon recipe (supposedly the original) with a secret ingredient. YEP! To die for. ๐Ÿ˜‰

            Like

            1. I wonder if your secret ingredient is the same as mine. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Actually, I have two! I let my Kitchenaid do the kneading, except I do like the stress relief that hand kneading provides. Now I’m hungry for cinnamon rolls. ๐Ÿ™‚

              Like

  1. golf ball in the late afternoon sun…………. this particular ball is famous for having been stolen by a squirrel on a golf course. The squirrel took it home and kept it for several days until he realised that it was not as valuable as he thought. He returned it in the dead of night and shed a tear where no one could see. Another dream destroyed. He lacked the will to go on.

    Like

      1. thank you, I needed a bit of a boost today. Lost a friend yesterday……….. knew it was coming but it still knocks you around some……… my goal has been to live in the present (a bit like my dogs) but stuff keeps dragging me back into the past. My past is a good place but I don’t want to live there.
        Sorry for the down vibe……. the birds are singing and the sun is out so I’m going for a walk with my dogs and I’m taking my sadness with me.
        Again, thank you for the encouragement.
        Terry

        Like

        1. I am so sorry about your friend, Terry. I know that grief is difficult, my mom died just a little over a year ago. I, too, knew it was going to happen, but the reality you’re never ready for. Anyway, let your creative side help process your sadness, and I sincerely send you wishes of peace. – Schelley

          Like

What's Your Perspective?

