Day 185 – Boom Bang Boom

Independence is happiness. – Susan B. Anthony

Today’s mystery “what is it?!?” picture is a photograph I took at our friends’ house, what a wonderful rainy day to spend with them, eating great food and enjoying each other’s company. Needless to say, since we’re in the midst of a huge rain squall, we won’t be seeing any fireworks tonight in celebration of the 4th of July. (Although I do hear some boom bang booms outside …)

What Is It?!?

Image

What Was That?!? Yesterday’s Picture (Day 184)

Anna’s perspective was, “Is it some sort of couch or seat covered in felt-like fabric and the lines are the sewed in as details?” It is not a couch or seat, nor fabric, or sewed-in details. Then Melisa chimed in … “It’s a–is that it’s real color?  It’s a…  Is it a concrete floor with some line cracks?” Well, no, that’s not its real color, I decreased the saturation. Nor is it a concrete floor with some line cracks. So what was it?

What you saw was a butcher block, one that has been in my family as long as I can remember. Those lines are from the butcher’s knives. My grandparents had a matching one, too. Each time we moved somewhere, I remember even the burliest of several men straining and groaning about moving this solid – and very, very heavy – piece of wood. This time around, it took my brother and two of his tough Army comrades to move the butcher block to our house. After my mom died, I did a lot of ancestry work and discovered my great, great grandfather was a butcher, even found a picture of him next to a butcher block!

2013_06_27_9845-2

8 thoughts on “Day 185 – Boom Bang Boom

What's Your Perspective?

