Day 249/365 – Involve Me and I Learn

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn. – Benjamin Franklin

This afternoon I was a guest speaker/substitute teacher for the photography class at Ian’s middle school. The director of the school, “Mr. Tony,” sat in on the class and told me he was impressed that I actually held the attention of 12 middle school kids for “a solid 15 minutes” (I do remember those days, so yes, pretty much an accomplishment, ha ha). I showed them examples of (what else?) perspectives, and then we all proceeded outside to practice capturing their perspectives. Some of the kids really “got” my lesson of look at it any way you can, I noticed one crouched almost belly to the ground to take a photograph of a mushroom, one zoomed in as close as he could on a tree, I noticed another looking up in the tree, and yet another finding a “K” made of branches on the picnic table. We even played a few rounds of “what is it?” Mission accomplished! 😀

Now for today’s mystery “what is it?!?” picture, which is ready for your guessing pleasure. Can you tell? Do you know?

What Is It?!?

09-05-13-5

What Was That?!? Yesterday’s Picture (Day 248)

It looked like wood slats. But not wood. The back of a blue metal chair? It’s not a chair but it is blue metal. Metal slats? Indeed. They looked curved, is it a sun dial? Not a sun dial, but it is curved. Between Jude and wildersoul, they figured out what you saw were blue metal round slats, but from what? There’s a story behind these slats …

So what you saw was part of the blue metal body of a blue dinosaur. After traveling the Southeastern United States for 18 years, Jim Gary’s Twentieth Century Dinosaurs exhibit came home to the Tallahassee Museum. Some of the 21 dinosaurs that roam the museum span as much as 43 feet in length and weigh up to 4,000 pounds! Gary, the artist, created each dinosaur using used auto parts from the 1950’s, 60’s and 70’s. A self-taught artist, Gary found each of the thousands of parts in junkyards across the country and painted his prehistoric creations in bold, bright beautiful colors, such as the deep blue in this picture. Jim Gary is noted as saying, “Old Chryslers make the finest dinosaurs.” Indeed! These dinosaurs are indeed a unique and much-loved feature of my beloved Tallahassee Museum.

09-05-13-2roar

10 thoughts on “Day 249/365 – Involve Me and I Learn

  1. You’re right – I wouldn’t want to sit on that dinosaur! Great recycling though!
    Is today’s image something knitted? Like a bag handle? Or possibly a very skinny cobra 😉

    Like

What's Your Perspective?

