Day 255/365 – The Blank Thrill

It’s so fine and yet so terrible to stand in front of a blank canvas. – Paul Cezanne

I finally picked up my brushes and started a watercolor tonight, thus the late night posting. I got carried away! But that’s the thrill of creation, I never know what the end result will be. I’m kind of just the hand that holds the brush, that right-side brain creativity does its thing. Wow!

So I finally have today’s mystery “what is it?!?” picture ready for your guessing pleasure. Do you know? Can you tell?

What Is It?!?

2013_09_12_9999_14-2

What Was That?!? Yesterday’s Picture (Day 254)

Jude started off with, “Oh boy, another image which looks so familiar… I’ll try to guess it in the morning :)” I can see why it would look familiar. Brenda asked, “Is it wood?” Not wood. Plastic? Not plastic either. Marlyn asked, “a shell or a conch?” Not a shell or conch. Now fast-forward (or rewind) to this morning, Jude comments, “OK, brain rested – so I will have another look and a guess. Mmmm… is it a shoeprint in the sand with the pattern of the shoe/trainer?” Well, what you are seeing is indeed a pattern but not from a shoe (and what a great perspective). But I rang the winning ding-ding-ding bell nonetheless for Jude’s guess of “pattern.” Honestly, I don’t think anyone could guess what this pattern is on or from. So what was it?

What you saw is a glass bowl from Turkey that is hand painted on the inside and has this silvery curvy, flowing pattern on the bottom and back. I never noticed any specks until I took this close-up photograph. And the inside is totally different!

09-05-13-2

15 thoughts on “Day 255/365 – The Blank Thrill

  1. Yes this kind of obscurity makes it very difficult Shelley. I would want my readers to be able to feel occasionally successful and thus motivated to follow. It a great fun concept!

    “Honestly, I don’t think anyone could guess what this pattern is on or from. So what was it?”

    Like

What's Your Perspective?

