Day 320/365 – Web of Imagination

The artist is a receptacle for emotions that come from all over the place: from the sky, from the earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing shape, from a spider’s web. – Pablo Picasso

Ah, the creative soul, seeking its muse, and finding inspiration from everything the universe offers. I look to the sky and underneath my feet, in the trees and the sand, everywhere and everything, they all call to me.

Today’s mystery “what is it?!?” image is ready for your guessing pleasure. Do you know? Can you tell?

What Is It?!?

11-16-13

What Was That?!? Yesterday’s Picture (Day 319)

Susan said, “…looks like silk?” Not silk, but I can see that. Jude mused, “Is it marble? Like a pavement or wall?” Not marble, pavement, or a wall. “Fancy writing paper?” Not fancy writing paper either. Beautiful perspective though! Linda said, “Looks like my pool water in black & white!” Interesting! That’s what this reminds me of, too (water). Alas, it’s not water. (But it is in black and white.) Kim guessed, “Water/ink stain on paper?” Not water or an ink stain on paper. Another interesting perspective. Y. Prior asked, “the guess for 319- is it wallpaper?” Not wallpaper. So what was it?

Before I divulge the identity of this mystery subject, I must make a confession: I am a sneaky, sneaky lil’ devil. What did I do? Well, let me explain. … while I was editing the photo I used for the Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers, I noticed that one of the black and white filters had a really neat effect, but not one I wanted to use for this challenge. This is what that picture looks like.

IMG_1683-2

I thought, “hmmmm … I wonder if I could use this same picture for a “what is it?!?” photo and use that cool effect? Would anyone figure it out? What if they’re even side by side on my blog?” I decided to give it a try, so I angled the image, cropped it, and applied the filter. Alas, the resulting image. If you don’t know or haven’t figured it out already, what you saw was sand. Yes, sand, in an abstract vision.

11-15-13

9 thoughts on “Day 320/365 – Web of Imagination

What's Your Perspective?

