Tales of Bobcat Tails

My hometown, Tallahassee, Florida is not only home to the #1 Undefeated FSU Seminoles 2013 BCS National Champions (!), but also my beloved Junior Museum (officially the Tallahassee Museum). My son and I make regular treks to visit our feathered and furry friends in this natural outdoor habitat. The Tallahassee Museum is home to several species of animals, all of whom are injured or cannot survive in the wild. I have several favorite animals, particularly the elusive bobcats. It is a very rare occasion that I spot both, and a special one when I spot at least one in the tree. Well, did we ever get lucky our last trip, not only did we spot this beautiful bobcat in her tree, but she got up, stretched, and leisurely made her way down the tree, one shot is her looking straight at me.

The Florida wild bobcat (Felidae rufus Floridanus), in addition to the panther, are the two predatory big cats native to the Florida region. The bobcat is more common and much smaller than the panther, which is rarely sighted in the wild. So it is indeed a real treat to be able to see both Florida panthers and bobcats at this outdoor museum.

4 thoughts on “Tales of Bobcat Tails

  1. nice pictures – and nice tidbit to go with those big cats!
    and congrats on the FSU win! I saw the end of the game and it was SO exciting – and so close – whew – but that final run was pretty cool. My old boss was a former Seminole and so I still find myself rooting for them at times!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Well we certainly do have an AWESOME football team this year, I’m a mighty proud Seminole fan! So I’m glad that you still root for our team. That was indeed one of the most exciting – and nerve wracking – games I’ve ever watched. Perhaps you heard me screaming and yelling!
      P.S. Thank you about the pics! 😀

      Like

What's Your Perspective?

