What Is It?!? – Week 10/52

Never, never, never give up. – Winston Churchill

Another Monday, another mystery picture! Below you’ll find your 10th weekly “what is it?!?” picture (in total, mystery picture #375!), ready for you to guess. Can you tell? Do you know?

What Is It?!?

2014_03_10_9999-3

What Was That?!? Last Week’s Picture (Week 9/52)

Oh, last week’s picture was fun. Jude started off with, “Oh last week’s was so hard! And this week isn’t any better – I shall have to think about this.” I promise, I don’t intend to make these difficult. Sarah said, “This is really obscure! Last week’s one – very clever! Have you colourised this?” I didn’t change the color on this one, but I will say that it picked up the ambient lighting of my red walls. The subject itself is very close to its color. Fabio agreed about this being a difficult mystery subject, “Schelley, too hard for me to guess, but I loved i! Thanks much!” And then Brenda popped in, guessing, “The top of a Spanish conquistador’s helmet?” Alas, it’s not the top of a Spanish conquistador’s helmet. Mitch pondered, “Looks like some sort of glass item.” Not glass. Mic asked, “Is it my imagination or are all of them harder this year?” Again, I promise I’m not intending that! Sreejith guessed, “Edges of a rose petal ???” What a great perspective, but not edges of a rose petal. Joanne asked, “Is it a section of a drill bit?” Not a section of a drill bit, but I can certainly see that. After some sleep, Jude returned, “OK. I’m back. Still can’t make out what it is, but as a guess I shall say something material – like curtains or possibly a cushion?” Not material. Think opposite. “So something hard. Plastic? Or metal?” Metal. Ding! “So, a frame of a mirror maybe? Or curtain finial? It does appear to have a twisted appearance.” It is indeed twisted.  But I cannot expect you to know exactly what the subject is, other than it’s metal. Hint: the subject picks up the ambient lighting from my red walls.

So what was it?

What you saw was part of a twisted metal lamp stand. The light from the lamp reflecting off of my red office walls gave this the warm, reddish glow.

2014_03_03_9999_10

13 thoughts on “What Is It?!? – Week 10/52

What's Your Perspective?

