Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone, But Not Forgotten

Takeoff

When the space shuttle system was retired, some thought that NASA’s mission would die. But die it did not. Although none of the shuttles fly anymore, and Atlantis is now home at Kennedy Space Center, NASA’s mission does indeed continue. Today’s epic launch of the #Orion-EFT1 starts a new chapter into our exploration of space. Who knows, maybe my child or his, will be one of the first to explore Mars in person. So Atlantis might be gone, but she certainly is not forgotten. Here she is launching into our sky, mission STS-132, on May 14, 2010. (I still get goosebumps!)

2014_09_19_9999_340ย And here she is home at Kennedy Space Center.

To see other interpretations of Gone, But Not Forgotten, check out the Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge here.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone, But Not Forgotten

  1. Schelley, as soon as I heard about the launch, I said to myself: “Schelley must be there close to the launch pad!” And BINGO!!! ‘Powerful’ shot, my friend! And I hope NASA will invite you to attend many more launches because you are the perfect reporter for such events – you have energy, inspiration, passion, and you write with your sharp brain, and your sweet heart! Take care and you and your family have a wonderful weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I so very much wish our space program would make a technological breakthrough so we could really start exploring the stars. All my life I’ve hoped and waited. Maybe it will happen yet … soon, I hope. While I’m still here to see it.

    Like

What's Your Perspective?

