The Longleaf Pine

IMG_0344

The other day I showed you what the wood’s floor looked like with all of the fallen pine needles; my fellow blogger friend, Brenda, asked if these were from the Longleaf Pine tree, so I thought I’d show you an example of what this ecosystem looks like. I took this photograph the same day as the other photo, it was just right around the corner. What’s great about our area here is there are so many diverse ecosystems, one minute you’re in one, the next, a totally different system.

11 thoughts on “The Longleaf Pine

  1. Those are beautiful trees. My friend told me that the cones will not sprout unless they have been burned, and that the gopher turtle burrows, and all the ecosystem critters share the gopher turtle’s burrow in a fire. Even the snakes and the rodents huddle together, under a temporary truce. Without the gopher turtle, all would perish.

    Like

            1. I didn’t know you are a Cherokee. I am confused when you say Ian is the last. Is he your husband? Do you mean he is the last Apalachee? But don’t you have kids? Perhaps this is really your story, then.

              Like

            2. In order to say you’re Cherokee (or any Native American descent), you must be at least 1/16 (which is Ian’s case). This is through my mom’s side. I’ve learned from ancestry research that my great grandmother on another branch might be Native American, too, because she was born on Indian Territory. The Apalachee Indians were the ones from around Tallahassee. The Cherokee line from my family is from Oklahoma (being forced through Trail of Tears). I believe they were originally from Ohio. Sorry that’s confusing!

              Like

            3. The Trail of Tears is shameful thing. Many left from North Carolina. I learned about it when I lived there in Carrboro. As an Irish descendent, I can relate to having ancestors pushed off their land and never getting it back. I have papers that tell stories of the sharks that followed the ships from Europe because so many died of sickness on the voyages. Such terrible things in the past, but the sunshine and beauty of the world is a balm.

              Like

            4. My son, Ian (12) did his history fair project about the Trail of Tears last year. Over the summer, during tutoring, he wrote an essay on what was lost as a result. This year he’s doing his project on John Ross, and how he was a leader of the Cherokee Nation. Being 1/8 Cherokee, I can relate to Ross.
              Ironically, my dad’s side of the family is from Caledon, Ireland. I’d love to read your papers! That’s scary thinking about the sharks that followed the ships, but that does make sense. I have letters from both sides of my family, and one day I’ll take the time to read and scan all of them. Too bad I wasn’t interested in my ancestry until all my family died. At least there’s ancestry.com and piles of old letters!

              Like

            5. I have ancestors who were interested in genealogy (several actually) and a whole bin of stuff. I’m teaching memoir writing, and it’s a fertile source of inspiration of the people who produced me. I haven’t tackled my own life yet.

              I think the Irish understand and appreciate others, many have intermarried. My ancestors, too. I bet you’re a terrific mom. 🙂

              Like

What's Your Perspective?

